Bittersweet Symphony

2004-04-10 at 2:47 a.m.

When I'm old and security vacuums

I think when I'm old I'll regret how much TV I watched. I'm planning on doing a lot of things when I'm old that I don't have time for, like playing computer games. I'll spend time with my children now while they still want me around, and then I won't sweat it later when they don't because I'll finally have a bitchin' Sims neighborhood. I played Civilization a lot when I was pregnant, I haven't since. Computer games will probably be even cooler in 50 years.

I don't think it's possible that I won't sweat it. I'm way too needy.

A lot of kids have a favorite stuffed animal or blanket when they are Aidan's age. But Aidan? Has the vaccum cleaner. I have to keep it locked in the closet becase at the slightest opportunity, you will find him trying to drag it into the shower with him. It's extremely heavy so he is largely unsuccessful in his attempts to use it as a security blanket and then he cries at me while he's trying to lug it around, and I say, "Hey, don't look at me, I don't want it." And he really stops after that, like, "OK, I see your point."

But there is good news because today my husband brought home with him Aidan's very own, child-sized toy vacuum cleaner. Oh man has he found a new love. He played with it for about 3 hours, only taking a break to eat dinner. He didn't even bother me while I videotaped him, and this is really quite amazing because I can usually only get a few seconds of good tape before he's on me like a fly trying to play with the camera. Even though it will probably take up a lot of space in my luggage, I'm thinking we're definitely bringing the new vacuum to Lebanon.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level