Bittersweet Symphony

2004-05-01 at 1:08 a.m.

OK, I lied

Here I am back again. The tickets arrived. It's a good thing too.

I've enjoyed the last few days. My nerves are in an excited state. I keep bothering the hell out of my husband and his friends by asking them all sorts of questions. And they keep making fun of me for what I don't know. How am I supposed to know? So I want to ask about seat belts. Taxis=No, Busses=Yes. Go figure. In case you were wondering. I didn't even ask about taxis separately. Cars and taxis should fall in the same category, shouldn't they? It cost 60 cents to take a taxi from one end of the city to the other. But it's per person, because you have to ride with other people. I don't know how that works.

There's a whole system of expatriate Lebanese in this city. The mail is so expensive you have to attach things you want to send to someone when you find out they are going. You have to take whatever someone wants to send because someday they will take yours. I don't know yet how everything I'm bringing for other people will get to their relatives, who I don't even know and who live in other cities. That's OK. I think it's true that the network of people in one place in the US (like Las Vegas) creates a mirroring network of people in Lebanon who meet each other because they're relatives have met each other. So I'm sure everything will work out.

Tomorrow we're going out to buy more presents for my brothers-in-law. Christmas is the arrival of your brother's American wife. Who's rich, of course. Brothers-in-law = Dani 21, Ali 14, and Hussam 3. I want to get the most for Ali. Dani is a man and he can take not having nice clothes. But Ali is in high school. And I love his innocent dark dark chocolate eyes and I know we'll be best friends. We'll eat menushi together at a table in the street. And he'll tell me about the people that walk by. And I'll help him with his English. I hope so. I want to buy things for people so they'll like me. Is that bad?

The worst part of the journey will be in Paris, after we've been travelling for about 12 oe 13 hours and we'll have to wait 4 hours to get the next flight. But I think I'll be so excited that I will meet them at the end of that very flight that I will make it through.

Aidan is a good boy. Such a good boy.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level