Bittersweet Symphony

2004-05-29 at 4:02 p.m.

Habeeb a- shaab

I brought some books with me that I always meant to read in case I got bored. I got bored. Unfortunately, it's only taking me a day or two to read them, so I'll be out soon. I read All the King's Men, writing style fantastic. Now I'm reading The Jungle and it's depressing me. I was supposed to read it a long time ago, when a classmate in Monterey who is in the Navy agreed to read Atlas Shrugged if I read it. He kept up his end, and now I guess I'm finally keeping mine. It does make me more grateful than ever to live when I do, but it is still very relevant, I think. I see my husband in Jurgis, and I don't want him to be crushed in cynicism, so hopefully things will get better first. He is already a tad cynnical, but he calls Wal-Mart the Habeeb A-Shaab, which is like Love of the People. We have to shop there, or we wouldn't survive. I don't want him to know the truth. And after all, we both of us have worked for less than they pay their employees. It's not so horribly bad, I suppose. We all of us have to allow some moral ambiguity into our lives or we simply wouldn't make it. I think.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level