Bittersweet Symphony

2004-09-02 at 7:59 p.m.

Pre-disillusionment shameless narcissism

So. I signed a confidentiality agreement at my new work. And I can't say anything to "disparage the company." Most people don't take things seriously. And that's cool. That's cool. But I decided that the only thing that matters, over my pride or my frustration, is my son. Plus, I found out that Office Space is making fun of me. Not me really, because I'm competent and efficient. But I found out I like large companies. *GASP* I've always wanted someone (I say "always" lightly because I haven't worked that much) to say, "Oh my god! You are really competent and honest and you work hard. You should definitely, definitely work here!" Which is sort of unrealistic, of course. Sort of, ha. But anyway, no one will not know that I am good now, because it's all numbers. Call handle time, containment of call, attendance and adherence to break and lunch scheduele, and quality reviews. And since I'm anal retentive, me and... all those things, will get along really well. *I* am gonna be good at this. Mark my words, I'm calling it right now. If I stay there, I'll be a manager within 2 or 3 years. And now, since I've put it here, I have to be.

Believe it or not, I'm pretty optimistic about things, especially at first. I have to be fucked over again and again and again before I become passive aggressive enough to let the obsession of my life be complaining about where I chose to work. Not that some good, healthy complaining every once in awhile isn't good. And there's always plenty of legitimate things to complain about, no doubt. But after a certain point, it becomes no longer worth it.

BTW, I'm not, like, working in a customer service department of a company, I work for a company that sets up outsourced call centers. And I kind of like that because it means that whole operation is focused on making call centers better.

Remember this. It is The Time Before I Became Disillusioned.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level