Bittersweet Symphony

2004-03-15 at 2:08 p.m.

Life and Death

We found out yesterday that my FIL needs some expensive medical treatment, and my husband asked if we could send them "my" money (GI bill, monthly financial aid from being in the Army). He is so cute sometimes. Poor guy works 75 hours a week, while, I, arguably, have the much easier and more rewarding job of spending time with Aidan. Not to say that being a mother isn't difficult, but in any case, I wouldn't consider withholding "my" money from him when he doesn't withhold any from me. What am I going to say? No, I'm sorry, let your father die not having seen his oldest son in almost 5 years because I was planning on picking up some DVD's and new clothes? He knows that sometimes I chaff under the idea that his family is our financial responsibility (albeit a small one: their rent is $200 a month), but this is life and death.

Sometimes when life gets horribly real, I have a hard time feeling anything at all. Maybe I don't have the depth of emotion to comfort my husband with all the prospects that are swirling around in his head, but when I look at him worried and tearing up, I don't know what to do. I suppose I will feel more after I have met his family. I hope so.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level