Bittersweet Symphony

2004-03-17 at 12:53 a.m.

Just death

My husband's father is dying. He doesn't know it, and neither does his family. Wael is the only one who knows. I really think he should tell them, but it's his decision to make. My friend Kaylee's dad died of cancer a few years ago, and even though he was the kind of person who, when he found out he was dying, didn't have to rush and make sure everyone knew how much he loved them or mend fences, I think it was really important for them to have that last time together.

The only person close to me who has died is my grandmother. For months and months afterward I blamed myself so much for not seeing her before she died and for not realizing that she was about to. My family knew, but they didn't tell me. They wanted to protect me from seeing her when she was out of it. But I really wish now that I had made it clear to her what she was for me. So that's my lesson in letting people know how I feel. I hoped I learned it well.

So anyway, I've bumped up my trip to Lebanon in order to make sure my FIL can meet his grandson and vice versa, and it's a mad rush to get passports and visas. I'm really happy that I can do this for my husband, his family, and for Aidan. It'll be a sad trip, I guess, but I hope maybe it'll make this more happy in some sense for them. I hope, anyway.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level