Bittersweet Symphony

2004-03-20 at 12:45 a.m.

And the hits just keep on coming....

I think all the stress of dealing with his father helped add to my husband's health problems. He had asthma as a child, and allergies. He hasn't had a problem for a long time, but he started smoking this year and the air has had a very high pollen count lately. Quit smoking everyone!! Quit before you have to deal with the nightmare. I'm quitting. So he had starting wheezing and having stuffed sinuses and watery eyes. Last night I finally convinced him to go to the hospital. I knew it was bad when they took him to the back right after checking his vitals. You don't get out of a wait in the ER unless you're pretty ill.

He's doing better, but I'll still be worried until he's completely better. We'll have to buy some air filters and humidifiers and stuff. It's better than the huge bill that I foresee from this.

Today when I was picking up Aidan from my stepmom after visiting Wael, some missionaries came by the house. You know, I like Mormons. I know that most people don't, but I remember what it's like to be one. And the bottom line is, you call them, and they're there for you, whether because they feel obligated or because they're good people or a little bit of both. Anyway, I like being Mormon. But I don't believe in God. I don't. And I don't blame anyone for doing so, but I don't know if I can convince myself to think otherwise. And I don't think I'll ever get over the whole using-church-money-to-help-ban-gay-marriages thing. Like, I can understand if they want to say that they don't recognize gay marriages as valid, or that they think it's wrong, but why spend the money on making it illegal? Tithing money is supposed to be sacred. It's used to build churches and temples and for charity and missionary work. I just don't see how they justify it to themselves. Ugh.

I mean, the whole thing where blacks weren't allowed to hold the priesthood until 1979 is... not good. But at least I can kind of sort of see the point that they were trying to preserve their "image" and therefore "save" more lives, but really... it's all bullsh*t. What's right is right and that's it. That is supposed to be the nature of eternal law. Don't like it? Fine! Be damned. That's the way it is. So why try to make things soft and cushy and save some people when you're alienating the totally innocent and non-bigot Africans and African Americans who look at it and say, "Why would I want to be a part of that?" Always go with the non-bigots, I say.

OK, I've talked myself out of being Mormon. Sometimes I have weak moments. It's probably all this emotion and junk. My poor poor big-hearted MIL. She heard Wael was in the hospital and she went crazy. Her husband and her first child, all in one week. Now all we need is for something to happen to Aidan. Oh dear God. Knock. on. wood.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level