Bittersweet Symphony

2004-04-04 at 9:11 p.m.

Dying in his place and Something More

I just saw a story on 60 Minutes about another abuse of agents of the Bush administration. It was about a chemical waste spill that occurred before Bush took office. When his appointees took their posts, the agency investigating the spill cut their investigation short and fined the company (a major Republican contributor, surprise surprise) a pittance. How much stuff do he and his people have to do before even people of his own ideology stand up and say Even we don't want this guy to be in charge of us.

I have to admit, I was enamoured of Howard Dean, and I was heartbroken when he lost, so at first I wasn't sure if I would vote at all. But then I imagined what it would be like to wake up the day after Election Day and find out that Bush would be president again. The heartbreak, I think, would be much much more severe. But what really made me like Kerry more than just the fact that he is Bush's opponent was that he got into politics through protesting Vietnam (yes, I learned that from MTV, so sue me, I wanted to see how he would do). You know, I wouldn't fault him if he had run away from the war, (I'd want my son to) but if you're going to run away from it by having your rich daddy get you into the national guard, you'd better be fighting for the people that are dying in your place. And John Kerry did both, he didn't run away, and he fought for the men who remained after he left. So I like him. Plus his wife is awesome.

Another thing that really pisses me off is this Karen Hughes. She wants us to vote for Bush because she has a warm and fuzzy personal relationship with him. Sure. While it is nice to know that the man who is fucking over our country can do so with a friendly smile on his face, I don't know, I think I just need something more.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level