Bittersweet Symphony

2004-04-05 at 6:34 p.m.

Loud noise and violent crime

I have the sort of personality that is very easily annoyed by noise. I found out it was my personality type and not just a bad thing about me when my brother and I got closer recently and he told me what my "type" was, according to this book he likes, and he told me about his roommate who is the same type and he always hits the wall when his neighbors make noise. It's a rare personality type and I think that's good for the world. All of them like me I've met (online) were really mean. I try not to get mad at kids for playing outside. I know they have a right to, and I know that I bothered apartment dwellers for many years as a child myself. It just drives me crazy. Sometimes I yell at them from inside the house. I hope they can't hear me. I don't think so-- no eggings as of yet. My husband always puts up with my obsession for silence, poor man. I always go to bed before him and inevitably, no matter how low he turns the TV, I always yell, "It's too loud!" And not once has he turned it all the way up in anger. That's what I would do. Maybe. I haven't lived with anyone with a similiar obsession so I guess I can't really say.

I got in fights with two of my neighbors in our old complex. I don't want that to happen again. I'm so embarrassed. The first lady deserved it though. (Not physical ones, of course)

The other bad thing about me is that I'm very afraid of crime. It's been that way since I was a child and I locked the door everytime it was unlocked. When I was in the Army it went away because there were so many people around and it's always something irrational that comforts you. But then after I came back, I got robbed where I worked. And then I had a child and had to worry about him too. Now I know that in the face of life-threatening danger I turn to mush and am no good. So I hope I never have to protect my son. Maybe I'll be able to pull it together for him.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level