Bittersweet Symphony

2004-04-12 at 2:54 p.m.

Piles of stuff

My cell phone is broken so this is now my only communication to the outside world. I just cancelled my real phone, because, hey, I didn't need it anymore, right? My husband is going to wonder why I've turned my phone off when he starts trying to call me. I suppose I could just get in the car and drive to his work, but I just got home and I guess I'm mean like that. Stupid phone. I hope it has a warranty. I doubt it. Stupid phone.

I had to go to a different bank today and there was a used bookstore next door. They are my weakness. Because in a real bookstore, the price is prohibitive, but in a used bookstore, you can come out with a whole stack of stuff and not even notice. Which is what I did. It's OK though because they had some movies too so I bought my husband "Dumb and Dumberer." He likes stupid movies and he's wanted to see that one. I think it's because subtlety in another language is difficult. I got so used to explaining movies to my husband that when I was watching a movie with my friends, I kept turning to them saying, "You get it? You get it?" And they're looking at me like "Of course we get it, what the fuck is wrong with you?"

I don't like to own movies that I don't like. I think what movies you own say something about who you are, so I always find it necessary when people are looking at our large quantity to tell them that some of them belong to my husband. So silly. I want to sell the ones that I don't like, but my husband likes to see that we have a lot of DVDs. I do too. We're shallow like that, a consumer age couple.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level