Bittersweet Symphony

2004-05-09 at 2:09 p.m.

Different

My husband is sad because he thinks I must have a crush on someone at the beach to be going there every night with Danny. Actually, it is only the most socializing I have done in over a year and a half and I enjoy it, so sue me. The man who owns the hookah restaurant is so cute. He doesn't speak English, they tell me, but he always works harder on my hookah, and asks me, "Good?" They tell me he is illiterate. That is sad, he is so nice. They said a lot of people who would have been in school during the time of the war are also illiterate.

Also, the man here at the internet cafe is nicer to me than to all the mostly teenagers boys who come here to play computer games. Spend $5 somewhere, and you're treated like a queen. That's my kind of gig. Actually, the hookah costs $2.30 every night, so maybe I have spent a little less than $10 there. Some of our friends in Las Vegas had a little hookah booth and also a restaurant with hookahs at the Aladdin, and they charged, like $15 for a half an hour. I'm going to be bringing some hookahs home with me, as one that goes for about $80 in Las Vegas, you can get for $10 here. It's interesting, to see what is cheaper and what is more expensive here. Milk is the same, but tastes funny. Cigarettes are about half the price. BMW's are considered in the same league as Toyotas, and they always only say, "BM," which I thought was funny. I wish there was another American here with me, I always want to turn to someone and say, "Isn't that funny?"

They asked me who is the most popular singer in America. I don't think I can answer that. Everyone likes different people and groups. Not like here. The standards are pretty standard.

For some reason, with Lebanese, Bryan Adams always comes up. Not that he's bad, I'm just saying. And Celine Dion.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level