Bittersweet Symphony

2004-05-13 at 4:50 p.m.

Rant the third: On In-Laws

A few days ago the pollution was so bad that I couldn't go outside. It's better now. I got tonsilitis the next day. Last time I got it, I had to pay a doctor $170 to tell me I had what I already knew I had and write me a prescription. Here, I just went to the pharmacy.

I'm starting to get fed up with things. A couple of nights ago, I was putting Aidan to bed. He was so tired, he was falling over when he was standing. He nurses to sleep. So I had just finished nursing him and he was drifiting into sleep when all of a sudden, there was a big commotion in the hall and he woke up. Someone knocks on my door, "Cherie. Cherie. Uncle of Wael want to see you and want to see Aidan." She came in the room and I yelled at her that if they wanted to see us, they shouldn't come at fucking 10 o'clock in the night. She said she wanted to take Aidan. I said fine, but he's going to cry the whole time because he's fucking tired. She picked him up and he screamed, so she put him back. I was mostly pissed at first because it's so hard to get him to sleep, even when he's tired, and they ruined that. And then it pissed me off that they valued their own happiness more than Aidan's. And today I was sleeping in the morning and my MIL comes in with her neighbor asking if I want to go to her neighbor's house. What does she think? She is always walking in to my room without knocking. I'll have to start locking it. And she's always telling me to do this do that to Aidan. He's my fucking son and I've managed to get through a year and a half already, I think I can do it. I'm tired of people looking at me, Oh... this is Wael's wife and they stare at me openly, judging me, and they look at Aidan. Is he the same as Wael? Is Wael better or is Aidan better? Is my daughter prettier or smarter or bigger or stronger than your son? I don't fucking care!!! And SCENE.

OK, I'm better now. Or not. There's comes a point in every journey when you just want to go home. And there comes a point when you get over that. I'm waiting.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level