Bittersweet Symphony

2004-05-24 at 2:18 p.m.

Yeah to voting!!! My subject line almost always has to do with my last subject, they should put it before the entry box

So I saw something mildly weird this morning (you may have just thought that this might be interesting, but don't worry, it won't be). I was watching international CNN, which is the same as CNN, except it's taken out anything that might be offensive to foreigners or seem slightly self-obsessed, and anyway, it said Coming up Next: For Latin America: The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, For all other Countries: Top News Stories. So, CNN is now running the Daily Show? Something seems so wrong about that. It's like, if they made Scream 4 (or have they already?) and they cast people from Scary Movie. And also, if it's only going to be one region, why Latin America? The Daily Show is universal! I would so wake up *every* morning at 6 am if I could watch it here. I found a channel that has some good shows, like Arrested Devlopment, Andy Richter Controls the Universe, and Scrubs, but it does seem weird which shows they choose to show and which they advertise aggresively. Run: Murphy Brown, Jerry Springer, Malcolm in the Middle, Life with Bonnie. Aggressively advertise: Yes, Dear, Friends, Conan O'brien and Jay Leno. There are more, brain freeze. My MIL always comes in and changes the channel. What the...?

Dangit, there were other things.

Oh, yeah, so did you hear about the terminal collapse at the Paris airport? You probably didn't pay too much attention, unless, like me, you just sat in that terminal less than a month ago for three hours with your 18 month old and now are constantly running the image in your mind of it having collapsed while you were sitting there!! I have a problem with image running.

So, there were elections here yesterday. I have to kick myself for forgetting to bring my camera with me into Tyre proper yesterday, I so wanted to get the pictures. There are two main "parties," Hezbollah and Harakit Amal. I can't really figure out the difference, when I asked someone I was told the difference was that Harakit Amal steals money from the people and collaborates with Israel, so, not much help there. If I figure it out, I'll let you know. I will be taking some shots of political posters today, but I will really regret not having gotten the cars of people sitting out of their windows and holding flags and the fireworks and such. We need some of that up in America. Why can't we celebrate elections?? Oh, and women can and do vote here, you'll be estatic to know. I'm so having a parade if (WHEN!!!!!!!!!!) John Kerry wins in a few months.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level