Bittersweet Symphony

2004-05-25 at 1:30 p.m.

The Mom

I met someone in the family who has an American wife. She converted and she wears the hijab. She was really nice, it was so wonderful to speak English with someone. The other day I heard some kids here in the internet cafe speaking almost entirely in English and I almost cried. I mean, it's not that I expected to come here and have everything made the way I wanted it, but I don't think I expected how hard it would be.

My MIL is a little simple-minded, I think. After "the American" left, she started talking about how they gave up having money to come here so they could raise their daughters here (in bondage, or really, just, not being able to do anything you want to do like go out with your friends and not be called a whore, so, yeah, in bondage). And I was like, "Well she's Muslim," and she was like, "Yes! Because she followed her husband." (The other day she was talking about how a women should take her husband's religion.) I don't think I can explain to her the complexities of the very simple situation of not believing in a religion, and also, of letting your children make their own choices. Oh, and of not wanting to be destitute. We all like money. Let's just admit it. I don't think my MIL would be very happy if Wael came home and didn't work and wasn't able to send her money anymore. So yeah. I try to avoid talking to her, it just complicates things and she usually misunderstands me.

I don't understand HTML, I'm a loser, I'm just trying something.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level