Bittersweet Symphony

2004-08-01 at 6:17 p.m.

Terrorist Baby

I'm miffed because my last entry was surreptisously deleted. I often use big words when I think, but am not sure, for what exactly they are meant. OK, I was right, but it's spelled "surreptitiously." I'm so saving every entry until it's been up for awhile.

Well, I was talking about some old friends I have here in Utah. When I was 13 my mom kicked me out, and, instead of sending me to my father, who desperately desired to have custody of me, she sent me to my grandparents, who turned out to be, at that time, even worse than my mother. So a neighbor of my grandma's, Rene, who has had numerous exchange students and some fosters, took me in. She has a daughter about my age, Kaylee, who is having a baby, and her shower was yesterday.

I enjoyed it except for a few things, and me, of course not liking to dwell on the positive, will move right along. I was envious when I heard that Kaylee's husband is majoring in what my husband wants to major in. Him not being able to go to school until he gets his greencard has placed this indefinite time in which things will never get better, and, getting older, my husband is getting cynnical.

I've just learned that I'm in the reddest state in the nation, coming in at 22% for Kerry, and I think it can be partly contributed to Mormons' lack of knowledge about the outside world. They like diverse people as long as they're just like them (and I really mean that, they do like to have "ethnic" people in the church, so long as they act and dress and believe like them). So anyway, Kaylee asked me how Iraq was, and I was like, "I wasn't in Iraq, I was in Lebanon." She was like, "Whatever. Same thing." "Uh, not really. There's a war in one of them and not in the other." Kaylee has never "cared about stuff," and I love her, but, really, this girl has the ability to vote and she's never realized or considered that countries with a war going on are different than those without one.

And then one of her sisters heard me speaking a little Arabic to Aidan (which I don't like to do because it makes me seem all "I know Arabic!" but some things he only knows in Arabic), and she asked me, "Is that a foreign language or just his language," and I said, "It's Arabic. ....because we were in Lebanon..... because my husband's Lebanese." I was speaking slowly because I saw the strangest look on her face, which, honest-to-God was fear. Run! Run for your lives! They're speaking ARABIC! And I was talking to Rene, who told me that, altough she doesn't like it, she has to admit that she's racist. I asked if she was racist about Arabs and she started talking about the fact that it scares her that they think killing infidels is what God wants. People who think all, or even most, or even a lot of Arabs feel this way, NEED TO KNOW MORE PEOPLE.

Oh, and if you're ever at a baby shower and you have to guess what different baby items are that are inside a diaper, don't forget to consider miniature nail clippers. Open and closed.

Edit: And now my entry is back!! But I still can't edit or delete it. So now I'm stuck with two it seems, because I like this one better.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level