Bittersweet Symphony

2004-07-30 at 3:22 p.m.

Some pictures and mom-bashing

I was reading on Michael Moore's website, where someone referred to him as a muckracker, and then I had the thought, "Whatever happens, Michael Moore will be one of those tidbits in history." History teachers will say his name. Isn't that weird? Not all of them. At least some.

I'm going to post some pictures from Lebanon. Let's see here. I hate doing stuff. It's 3:30 in the morning.

So I decided that the thing with my mom is, you can't blame her for her actions, she really is incapable of understanding the basic logic of human interactions. So I should stop letting myself get angry, it's no use. But last night was beyond the pale, just plain messing with people's lives, and I WILL NOT LET SOMEONE HURT MY SON. Not like that. If she follows through on her threat, I won't hold anything legal back, and there is a lot legal in my mother's case, what with her paranoias. Hey, I just realized the best thing about my mother. Revenge is legal.

OK, on to something better.

Near the main city, close to where dh's grandma lives and where he grew up:

Aidan with his Uncle Danny, shortly after we arrived, they had an immediate bond.

The view from dh's grandma's house. It was at night so I had to skew the colors to make it visible. Not a very good picture, but imagine growing up living across the street from this. The picture doesn't show it, but usually at night that walkway is packed with people:

Trying on grandma's scarf:

One view from the family's house, this is outside the main city:

Aidan started imitating his grandparents and uncle praying, totally on his own, and with incredible adorable-ness:

And I took pictures of him at it a second time, much to the gall of my mother, who thought I did it just to bother her, as she thinks all my actions are aimed at.

Saw the sun, ran to take the picture. Ah, just gorgeous. Across the street from grandma's, those are the Roman ruins I later visited in the distance. Hopefully those pictures come out well.

View from the family house, the clump of buildings is the main city of Tyre and you can see the Mediterranean if you strain:

All pictures from the day after elections.








A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level