Bittersweet Symphony

2004-08-02 at 6:02 p.m.

I said "check this out" ! Never again, except for right here

I'm learning basic basic HTML, basically by looking at my template and guessing and seeing if I was right. It is so cool. I could easily see myself buying a book and then getting carried away with it. I'm getting carried away!! Soon mine will look like my dad's. Which, I don't want to link because what if he has some sort of invisible stats tracker that would show him all the pages linked to him and then he would find this and my little secret world would explode! Anyone, his goes on for miles, with all sorts of banners and buttons and rings and groups and friends and advertisements and such. I'm getting carried away!!

Next subject. A little history: When I was pregnant, I would not get medicaid because I was all prideful and silly and so we even ended up having to leave an apartment when we had an unexpected $300 in tests to pay for one month. I finally broke down when I was six or seven months pregnant because I wasn't going to the doctor enough in order to avoid paying for it, and so finally I allowed my husband to take me to the welfare office. But even then we didn't apply for food stamps or anything. Much headache would have been avoided if I wasn't so convinced that me and my child should have to suffer because we were poor and didn't always make the right choices. But now I know that you should never ever ever let your child go without doctor or food because you are prideful. So I've applied here in Utah, which was a crazy experience. First of all, in Nevada, you have to go into this dirty, large room full people, get your application, get a number, and fill it out (you're supposed to fill it out and then get a number, but no one does) and then you wait for three or four hours and the numbers inch along. And occassionally (often) a person will go up to the counter and sneak in and get helped without waiting for their number and the workers don't care, it's not their problem. But if you're like me, you'd be too embarrassed to do that. So when it's finally your turn, you go up and make your appointment, for about 2 weeks later. Well, in Utah, there are a lot of lower class families, as can be imagined (there's less work and less high-paying work than in Las Vegas). However, The Church (don don don) has it's own welfare system which requires you to not be on government assistance. So it was much less crowded than in LV. I went in to a clean room, with toys for kids to play with, and two other people using the free computers around the edge, filled out the application, took it over to another clean room with toys, went up to the empty desk and got my "appointment" immediately and had everything explained for about an hour. Talk about it. Utah's not all bad.

And if anyone hates welfare recipients, know that I already started looking for work last week.








A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level