Bittersweet Symphony

2004-08-14 at 10:49 p.m.

the most wonderful feeling

My husband is coming tomorrow! I told him how Aidan called my step-dad "Dada" the other day and how he asked me, "Go see Dada, K?" on another day after talking to Wael, and it wasn't at all to manipulate him into coming up here for a visit.

Yes, Aidan is talking more and more these days, and it is wonderful. I always knew this would be my favorite part, the part when cooing and smiles and kisses (which are nice but silent on his part) become thoughts and mysteries of his brain and personality. It's like meeting him everday for the first time when he says something new. Language is the greatest gift we give our children, the greatest product of our evolution. The best resource, and the most free. What we teach to our children in three years took millions of years for humans to learn. We're giants, every one of us, formed by the eons of time into the most knowledgeable creatures of the known universe! Oh what we could do if we wanted to.

Yes, I am bi-polar, and yes, I am "up" right now. But I deserve to revel in it! Do you know what it's like to know you have a mental disorder? It's not severe, however; I think I can keep it under control.

The olympics always make me happy, especially the summer ones. Especially swimming. I used to swim. Not good enough to be in the olympics, but good enough for state championships. Oh it is good to see athletes at top form. It is good to remember the water I spent so much of my childhood in. The thrill of racing, the isolation of the water and the bubbles interspersed with the noise of the crowd and the air. I love to see a swimmer racing through with apparent ease. That is the most wonderful feeling, "in the zone," as they say.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level