Bittersweet Symphony

2004-08-12 at 6:48 p.m.

And what becomes of you my love?

I went to see my friend (from the baby shower), who I probably seemed to hate, but it's a 2 hour drive, so obviously there is something I like about her. I had to borrow my grandma's car, and first drive her home in it. So I had to listen to Rush Limbaugh for approximately (and I'm just guessing here, it's not like I timed it exactly) 13 and a half minutes. Aside from being quite factually ignorant (he said Sustani was in league with Al-Sadr like it was a confirmed, actual fact), he said we should just get it over with and make Fallujah a "parking lot," and my grandma giggled with delight. Now, OK, I might occasionally find a suggestion of civilian massacre humorous at times, but... no I don't because I'm not a lunatic! If you ever think that people in history were crazy and how could anyone have been a Nazi, then look around because there are crazies everywhere and in every time. And it is so easy for people to forget that other people are also people even if they're different people. It's like that Belgian general, the only major western hero of the Rwandan massacre said (something like), "People are people are people are people." They love their kids, hate their parents, regret mistakes, fall in love, betray their friends, do great things for their friends, cook meals, and go to sleep at night. Are bad, are good, are mediocre, are wonderful.

So then I got to know my friend's husband, and he turned out to be nothing more than I thought he would be. Nerdy, grossly horny, ugly Mormon teenager, turned immature father and huband auto mechanic. I don't remember how we got on it, but we were talking about violence in the Middle East (oh yeah, I was talking about why Mormon missionaries just really wouldn't fly there (religion treated as an ethnicity, only to be changed for marriage) and Kaylee said that when the Lord was ready to open the area, he would), and anyway, her husband said, "Well things are going to get a lot worse there before they get better," and he said this in a way someone similiar to him would describe the cool new way fighters on a video game could rip each other's heads off, like it was funny, like it's an amusement. A totally inappropriate and weird amusement. And first of all, hello, my family lives in the Middle East, and isn't it even possible that he might consider that that prospect would be not only be not funny to me, but deeply worrisome, and. Second of all, this is another of my major complaints against Mormonism. Mormons (and possibly some other Christians) view these "last day," "apocalypse" type things with an air of inevitability which makes them seem acceptable to them. (As if the world has not always been a place of war, genocide, chaos, and power struggle) But it makes them completely apathetic to any action on the part of anyone that might make things better. Except using tithing money to support anti-gay marriage ammendments. Cause that's something worth fighting to stop.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level