Bittersweet Symphony

2004-04-20 at 8:12 p.m.

Big sister mommy

My little brothers are over so that my dad and stepmom could go out tonight. They're 4 and 6. So now I have an idea of what it's like to have 3 small children. I think it's fun for a day. No, I could do it, provided I wasn't working.

My dad was surprising Melinda with their "date" tonight so he brought the kids over beforehand. My dad is an awesome guy, but not the best father of small children. They have no underwear, no overnight diapers for the smaller one (although he's potty trained, the older says he wets the bed at night, and judging from the smell of their bedroom, I'd be inclined to agree with him. I don't think they even notice, or possibly they don't care). All they have are XXL t-shirts to sleep in. Last time they came over, I bought them some pajamas. I can't afford to now, I'll just get the younger the diapers and some sweat pants. I can just see my dad getting frustrated in the morning saying that Cody doesn't need diapers. Well, I prefer my bedding un-pee-stained.

They're getting to be better-behaved as they age. That is a relief. They used to be little devils incarnate. It's hard when both your parents work an excessive number of hours and don't pay particularly good attention to you when they're not. I hate to criticize my parents, they'd be so pissed if they saw this. They always seem amazed that I have so few behavioral problems with them when they're here. All you have to do is be nice to them, ask them questions about what they like and why they like it and what they do at such and such a place, etc, give positive feedback. I'm not saying it's never hard. It's quite frequently hard. But if you respect your children, I think the good times last longer than the bad ones. It's been my experience anyway.








A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level