Bittersweet Symphony

2004-06-19 at 7:45 p.m.

Winning

There is good news from the not-homefront. My FIL's chemotherapy treatment is going extremely well. The tumor in his head is completely gone, and the one on his lung is 40% gone. I cried like a silly, DIL baby when I found out. It was quite possibly the first time I really *felt* anything about the situation at all. I probably have some deep psychological problems that need delving into. My first thought was that the load on my husband's over-worked back would be considerably decreased, and I am immeasurably happy for that. And over-adverbed as well. The second thought was that my FIL, I believe, will always be to Aidan his best grandparent, the one that, while you love (or don't) the others dearly, is really your *friend*. For me that was my father's mother, the one who died in my senior year of high school. All the others are still living. Why did they take the best one first? Anyway, I want so much for Aidan to have lasting memories with him.

We went to the beach yesterday. We had gone there some weeks ago, and there was trash everywhere, but now, since it is officialy time to take summer tourists' money, there are restaurants and plastic tables set up everywhere. And then today I went to KFC and became sick and happy. There was even a Baskin Robbins inside. A little piece of American fast-food gluttony right here in Liban-town.

Miss Lebanon concluded last night. It was sort of a mix of Big Brother and a pageant. I had enjoyed watching it. My second choice won. I can't wait to see Miss World. Why do I care? They were all a bunch of stuck-up drama-queens. But I'm a reality show junkie. I don't have to understand the language they speak. I just have to enjoy watching them lose.






A Deep Thought from Jack Handy:








Current Terror Alert Level:
Terror Alert Level